Classification of events

Hey guys;

So, I’m sure you’ve been reading posts here about events that I particularly enjoy. Well in fact there were many, including family trips, but you never see them here…

Well, this post I’m going to try to explain why such events aren’t normally included/mentioned here. Basically I’ll classify events into a hierarchy consisting of 3 levels, which are: Major event, event that fulfills my wish of hanging out with friends, and ‘perfect’/’special’ event. Let’s get into the details of each level…

Major event: This is the lowest level on the hierarchy. In order for an event to qualify, that event must simply not include members of my family as participants and that I must be able to take significant amounts of photos and videos. Basically, the amount of photos/videos must be huge enough so that a separate folder in my photos library is worthwhile. This means that, as you’ve probably know already, schools/university trips, club trips, etc…as long as members of my family aren’t participating, will qualify for this status.

Event that fulfills my wish of hanging out with friends: This is the middle level of the hierarchy. An event that qualifies for this status will automatically qualify for the ‘major event’ status as it would have been mentioned here. Basically, in order to qualify for this level an event must (A) be in a form of a hang out, probably at one of my friend’s house, and must last long enough that I can take lots of photos and videos so that a folder with this name pattern ‘2017 {Month} {date} {friend’s name}’s house’ containing photos and videos from that day is created in my photos library, or (B) be in a form of a trip, either day trip or residential trip. For a trip, to qualify the trip must not involve the school or university at all. This means that the trip must be completely informal, and does not relate to the school or university in any way. This means that, for a trip, I must be able to use name patterns like ‘2017 {Month} {date} day trip to {Place} with {friend’s name}’, ‘2017 {Month} {date} day trip to {Place} with friends’, 2017 {Month} {start date}-{end date} residential trip to {Place} with {friend’s name}’, or ‘2017 {Month} {start date}-{end date} residential trip to {Place} with friends’ to name a folder in my photos library containing photos and videos from such trips. For both types of events, members of my family must not be participants at all, however members of my friend’s family may still participate.

‘Perfect’/’special’ event: This is the highest level in the hierarchy. This means that any event that qualifies for this level would automatically qualify for the lower levels. In addition to the qualifications for the lower levels, the person participating, must, in addition to being my friend, also be someone that I considered to be special to me. In addition, an event must also be in a form of a trip, and is thus subject to conditions I outlined above. This also means that for a qualifying event, the name pattern for a folder containing photos and videos from the event must strictly be something similar to ‘2017 {Month} {date} day trip to {Place} with {friend’s name}’ or ‘2017 {Month} {start date}-{end date} residential trip to {Place} with {friend’s name}’. In addition, an event that manages to be in this level will have a very good chance of being ranked as the best event of the year.

So…there you have it, my hierarchy of events which should somewhat explain why I never post or write about family trips (although the tagline on the top says ‘whatever is happening in my life’, I just don’t really like to talk about family events, like feasts and trips). However there are a few exceptions, of which family events may be included, but that is kind of rare…you’ll know when that happens as it will be mentioned here on this blog…

Anyways, that’s it for now…

Leave a Comment

