2010s half decade wrap up

Hey guys;

Judging from the title, you might be wondering, is this a post that suppose to be written since the end of 2014 (the exact halfway through the decade)? Well the answer is yes, but back then I didn’t consider this when writing the end of year wrap up, so…here I am, writing the wrap up of the first half of the 2010s in 2017.

Note: This post will cover major events up to 2014, as 2014 marks the halfway point in this decade.

Looking at events on a more global scale, the first half of the decade is surely not short on events that made world headlines. From the 2010 earthquakes in Haiti and Chile, to the two World Cups in 2010 and 2014 and the 2012 London Olympics, to the troubles in the Middle East…

So which event is the most significant? Well it’s very hard to tell as big events are significant pretty much equally, there seems to be no single event that stands out.

Zooming into the tech world, the first half of the decade is not all too exciting but the most significant events are the Sony hack in 2014 and the passing of Steve Jobs in 2011. The release of new gadgets every year also makes headlines.

Now, let’s narrow the focus down to what’s going on in my life, as there’s quite a lot to talk about.

The first half of the decade actually saw lots of things going on in my life, and I really mean it. In fact there are so many events that took place during this period of time that I can’t cover all of them, but there are dominant ones that stand out from the crowd. However, instead of giving an overall summary, I’m going to go through the events year by year. So let’s begin…I’m going to now take you all for a ride in the time machine…our first stop is 2010.

As 2010 begins, nothing too exciting took place, at least for the time being. I was on the last legs of the 2009-10 Christmas holiday. But the boring school routines was about to be replaced, at least temporarily, by a very exciting and fun event.

The event in question can’t be anything else but…the year 8 residential trip to Kanchanaburi! It was the first residential trip I had in a good while. Though the trip came and went quite fast, the trip was amazing and fun. In fact I enjoyed this trip so much that I chose it as the best event of that year, and that begins a trend where any residential trips will automatically be chosen as the best event of the year, a trend which is still continuing today.

Not long after the residential trip comes the Sports Day. It’s fun, nonetheless, although my team was unable to secure a first place…

As 2010 progressed, nothing too exciting took place for pretty much the rest of the year. Trolls are another major component during this time, but back in 2010 they weren’t so significant as I have to deal with only two trolls campaigns (the second one proved to be the longest and most brutal). The main factor as why the trolls are not so significant during this time is that I’m not active on Facebook or any social media, and back then I don’t have an ask.fm account (if the site even exists back then), so there were less ways for the trolls to annoy me. And so, 2010 ended in a somewhat good shape.

As the clocks striked midnight on December 31, 2010, the world welcomed 2011. 2011 for me was to be pretty much like 2010. There were still only a single residential trip, the year 9 residential trip to Chiang Mai. But what made this trip unique is that instead of flying, the teachers decided to use the train. It was quite a fun experience, and marks the first time I traveled in a second clas air conditioned sleeper. The trip itself was still as fun as ever, and once again I chose it as the best event of 2011. Sports Day is still a fun event, although I can’t remember how well my team did.

One unique event in 2011 was the cold spell in March, which saw temperatures dropping below 20C for the whole day at one point. Other than that, the rest of 2011, at least up until October, was quite boring.

So why is October and beyond different? Well there was one explanation. Water. Yes, October of 2011 was a time when the flood crisis in Thailand worsened and it finally affected me, albeit indirectly. The school was forced to close for around two weeks due to flood scare, and the result is that the school permanently changed the timetable and now starts much earlier than before.

Trolls were prominent, and the second trolls campaign continued throughout 2011.

As December 2011 got underway, 2011 has one more nasty surprise, and that is the fire at school. Yes, this is an actual fire, not a fire drill, and it occurred during lunch. Luckily it was just a small fire, so the school continued as normal. Overall, 2011 ended in a somewhat less desirable shape due mainly to the flood crisis.

As 2012 begins, nothing too exciting were going on. The year 10 residential trip to Rayong was quite fun, but it was still unique, in a way that it was the first residential trip where I used an Apple device to film my trip. In fact it was the first time that I ever filmed or took photos using an Apple device. After the awesome trip comes the Sports Day, and this was sadly my last Sports Day ever since years 11-13 aren’t allowed to participate. It was still fun, but once again I can’t remember how well my team did. 2012 did, however, feature more single day trips, namely from my ASDAN class.

Trolls were prominent, and 2012 marked a major turning point, partly because this was when I started using Facebook on a daily bases, which opened up new opportunities for the trolls to annoy me, and trolls exploited this new fact real quick. This year saw two trolls campaigns (one spanning into 2013 and the other lasted for a good few months) and a smaller proxy campaign. However during the second half of the year the trolls did turned away from Facebook somewhat and reverted to annoying me in person at school. All in all, 2012 started off pretty bad and it ended in a pretty bad shape, all was thanks to the trolls.

If the number thirteen is considered an unlucky number, 2013 had just the right combination of bad events to make it an unlucky year. Instead of starting off the year with a four-night residential trip, I had to go through the mock IGCSE exams. There was no Sports Day this year, and this year saw only one ASDAN trip, and it’s not even a group trip. But things are about to get worse, like a thousand times worse as half year approaches.

May and June were probably the worst months of the year. IGCSE exams combined with a new, deadly form of trolls. Yep, I’m talking about the ask.fm trolls. Within a matter of days, the number of questions that I responded skyrocketed to triple digits. But wait, 2013 was to offer one more thing, and it was a really nasty, unthinkable and sad event that sent shock waves through the rest of my year.

June 2nd, 2013 was suppose to be another boring day; I was on the last legs of my IGCSE exams. But things changed when I opened my inbox. It was a Facebook post in the class of 2015 group, but containing a sad news that one of my friends passed away. I was very shocked, and didn’t really know what to do. This event was to be decisive, as it turned 2013 from being already bad into the worst year yet, only to be surpassed by 2016.

Trolls were prominent, but this year saw only one new trolls campaign that actually lasted long enough to be a real annoyance, plus another one that was much shorter but was still annoying enough. Once the trolls discovered my ask.fm, they began using it as a platform to annoy me, knowing that I won’t know who posted the questions.

Although a residential trip and a class day trip (the first that I used an Apple device exclusively for photos and videos) finally arrived during the second half of 2013 along with the first Halloween Carnival that I participated and two MUN conferences, it was already too late to turn 2013 around. Thus, 2013 started off very bad, and even at its end, was still quite bad, thanks to what happened during May and June.

2014 was the year that marks the halfway point in this decade. For me, it’s a year containing both the good and the nasty/bad. The four-night residential trip returned, and it was really fun. But unlike previous years, this year 12 residential trip to Kanchanaburi was not chosen as the best event of the year, but rather it was combined into a larger event. Why? Because this year I had four residential trips! Yeah, four long residential trips! The first half of 2014 was probably the best (excluding the trolls troubles which I will discuss soon), as I had three big residential trips, and I also went to the STA senior prom and the annual STA expo. There’s also the Spring Dance in May. Oh, and there’s also one MUN conference in March. The second half of the year was not as good as the first, but there was a residential trip to Mae Sot (shorter, but still fun) and two MUN conferences plus a Halloween Carnival.

Trolls were prominent as always, but this year proved to be particularly annoying. Though there were only one new trolls campaign, this one proved to be nasty and brutal as it is a single large trolls campaign containing multiple phases. This year also saw use of ask.fm to annoy me on a very large scale. As year 13 got underway, the trolls have started turning to physical methods to bring me down, knowing that its their last chance to do so before graduation. Thus, all in all, 2014 started off really good and still ended in a good shape, despite the troubles with the trolls.

So…that marks the end of our trip, now we’ll return to the present…

As you can see, the first half of this decade saw lots of things going on in my life, but trolls dominated pretty much throughout, along with residential trips. In total, I had eight residential trips, four of them in 2014 alone. That’s why 2014 was to be called the year of residential trips…

Although there are less than two years before the decade ends, so far I’ve already gone through lots of things, namely transitioning from high school life to university life.

So…yeah, I guess that’s it for now…

Leave a Comment

