A wonderful prom

March 3rd, 2024 EST

Hey guys;

As the title says, there was a prom, last night to be exact. The fact that it took place just two days after my birthday celebration is pretty cool I must say.

This event, officially called “36th Annual Rapheal M. Prevot, Jr. Barristers’ Ball” is basically a prom. Since the event’s official name is very long, I’ll just call it “the prom” and that’s how this event will be refered to in this post and in any future posts referencing this event I will refer to this event as “the March 2nd prom”.

I first heard about this event around late January. Back then I didn’t know what the event is about, but I thought it was kind of interesting. So when ticket sales opened I immediately bought the ticket, for $70. There was also a separate form to reserve a place on the shuttle bus service. I decided to fill that one out too, in case I really needed it but turns out I don’t need it at all (as explained later).

One unique thing about this prom is that I get to select my meal during the ticket purchase process. This pretty much gave me a hint that the food is not going to be a buffet just like with past proms I’ve went to; rather, whatever I chose will be served at my table, at my seat. There were a couple of choices but of course I went for the fish choice.

After the ticket purchase, I had to collect my ticket and book a table. This took place between February 21st and February 23rd. Since my friend who baked my birthday cake is also going to the event I decided to ask her to pick up the tickets together. At first we want to do it on February 21st, which was a Wednesday but the line was far too long. The next day I picked up my ticket but didn’t select a table since I want to do it with my friend but turns out she was busy. Evventually though one of her friends managed to sort all of it out and so me, my friend and her boyfriend got to be in the same table.

Remember a while ago when I said that I signed up for the shuttle bus service? Well closer to the event date my friend offered to come and pick me up, and also to drop me back at my dorm after the event. Seeing that this is way more convenient than going to the law school and then catch a shuttle bus and deal with having to find my way to the front gate of the venue I decided to accept my friend’s offer. But still, I think signing up for the shuttle bus earlier was a good decision because, if my friend somehow can’t make it I at least still have a way to get to the venue without paying for Uber.

I can’t exactly describe the venue, but it’s obviously not a hotel. Maybe it’s a venue specijfically dedicated to holding events or something. But anyways, my friend picked me up at around 7PM EST or so and we drove to the venue, which did not take too long. Once we got there it took us a while to find the main entrance where we have to show our tickets.

Before the main meal was served out there was some bread with butter and salad. I only eat the bread though. The main course didn’t came until I think around 8PM EST or so. The fish choice that I picked turns out to be a salmon, which is pretty nice as I love salmon. There were some potatos too, and some vegetables which I didn’t eat. After that there was a bit of waiting before the desserts were brought out. I had some cookies, some chocolate balls, and a few others I don’t really know how to describe…but the desserts made me pretty full. While we all were eating there were some speeches on stage, about some rewards and such.

After that me, my friend, her boyfriend and her other friends decided to take photos at a photo booth. There were lots of people and it took us a good while until it’s our turn. Apart from group photos I also have photos of myself taken. And…yes, of course I brought along my props (my favorite inflatable ring and my inflatable snowman).

After that comes the fun part, the dance. A prom wouldn’t be a prom without the dance of course. I decided to keep my inflatable ring on throughout the whole time, and so, finally, I got to dance at a prom while wearing my favorite inflatable ring. The snowman was also with me. Last year, during another prom I could’ve danced with my inflatable ring on but as I mentioned back then it somehow had a leak when I inflated it; perhaps from overuse or something.

Anyways, the dance lasted for quite some time and lots of songs were played but I knew none of them. I think it wasn’t until 10:45PM EST that my friend and her boyfriend decided to take me back to my dorm. Originally a group of her friends were to come too but they decided to go somewhere else. And that pretty marked the end of a pretty wonderful event.

Overall, the prom was pretty good, just as I expected. Well worth the price tag of $70 I would say. The food was pretty good, and the dance was really fun. I don’t know yet when I will get all the photos taken at the photo booth though. This event is most likely the final event before the spring break.

The fact that this prom is most likely the last prom that I would have a chance to go to for a very, very long time, if not ever, is kind of sad because…I really enjoy going to proms. The prom last night took place just over three months before the tenth anniversary of my very first prom (June 21st, 2014 to be exact), back when I was in year 12 and my class helped to organize it. I think I can even remember how, for a time back then, it looked like the prom wouldn’t go ahead due to low ticket sales but eventually the sales went up and so it finally went ahead. Including the prom last night, I think I’ve been to a total of six proms. After my first prom in 2014, I went to one every year between 2015 and 2017, and then there was a huge gap where I didn’t go to any proms between 2018 and 2022. Last year in 2023 I went to a prom organized by students at my law faculty in Thailand and…this year in 2024, I went to another prom, this time organized by one of the student organizations at the law school here in the US.

I think the lack of proms between 2018 and 2022 was down to the fact that I didn’t know anyone who was on the organizing team for the proms or at the very least know about the event; plus of course there was covid between 2020 and around the first half of 2022. In 2015, 2016 and 2017 I at least knew someone who are either on the organizing team or have known about the event and so invited me. I will surely miss the proms; they are great fun, especially the dancing.

Anyways, that’s it for now…

Leave a Comment